Wien ich komme!

21 Dec

Ich breche jetzt nach Wien auf!

Streetcar/tram in Vienna

So i get an email from Viehauser Anna Elisabeth, subject stating ‘acceptance Vienna’ and I knew i did it. I got in. Nervously I open the email and read the first paragraph:

Dear Andrea Macario Oliveira,

I am very happy to inform you that you are accepted as exchange student at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna at the Department of Fine Arts/ performative techniques / Prof. Carola Dertnig for the summer term (1 March – 2 July 2011).

My heart leapt with joy, it had taken over a month to find out whether I was going to take part in the erasmus exchange, most people had already received confirmation of their places. I had previously sent them an email regarding any advancements on places given and I received a reply stating that the classes had not been fully chosen yet. That was last week. Yesterday I was confirmed onto the exchange.  I ran into the bedroom where my boyfriend was sat at his desk (composing his piece for voice) and i screamed at the top of my lungs “I’M GOING TO VIENNA!!!!!!!”. I was so happy, I called my mum and sister to tell them the news and even posted it on facebook.

I AM going to Vienna. I still love to say it in my head. I fell in love with the city when I went there in 2007 on a music tour with my school. I loved the culture there, the arts and music thrive side by side. People are really nice and the city is beautiful. We performed at many palaces including the Schonbrunn palace , we also attended an opera at the opera house and visited the Mozart museum, amongst other things.

Schonbrunn palace Wien

 

Commemorative plaque on the back side of the Mozarthaus: Schulerstrasse 8, Wien

One thing I was sad about was not being able to go visit any galleries, especially the MOMA (or MUMOK in German). Well now that I am going there once again (and for 3 months) I get to go see a lot of art and great architecture such as the secession building which I saw on the way to our hotel. Stunning building.

The secession building at Vienna, built in 1897 by Joseph Maria Olbrich for exhibitions of the secession group.

The Vienna Secession (also known as the Union of Austrian Artists, or Vereiningung Bildender Künstler Österreichs) was formed in 1897 by a group of Austrian artists who had resigned from the Association of Austrian Artists, housed in the Vienna Künstlerhaus. The first president of the Secession was Gustav Klimt, and Rudolf von Alt was made honorary president. The Vienna Secession was founded on 3 April 1897 by artists Gustav Klimt, Koloman Moser, Josef Hoffmann, Joseph Maria Olbrich, Max Kurzweil, Otto Wagner, and others. The Secession artists objected to the prevailing conservatism of the Vienna Künstlerhaus with its traditional orientation toward Historicism. The Berlin and Munich Secession movements preceded the Vienna Secession, which held its first exhibition in 1898.

(see: http://www.essential-architecture.com/STYLE/STY-007.htm)

The Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien (MUMOK)

I’m really excited to go and study at the Akademie der bildenden künste Wien. I am wanting to go and do another degree there after Wimbledon as it is particularly well known for its performance art (and I also just want to live in Vienna!).  I will be on the performative techniques course and well,I  can only just wait and see what course my work will take once I am there.

I hope this will be a great experience!!! Need to brush up on my German first!

Akademie der bildenden Kunste Wien

Leave a Reply

