Contemporary Art Gallery, Women’s Art Exhibition, London – The Body in Women’s Art Now: Part 1 — Embodied Retorno a al Pubertad (Return to Puberty) by Jessica Lagunas

28 Feb

 

Contemporary Art Gallery, Women’s Art Exhibition, London – The Body in Women’s Art Now: Part 1 — Embodied Retorno a al Pubertad (Return to Puberty) by Jessica Lagunas.

So after having made my “Mons Pubis” video I discovered the artist Jessica Lagunas who made an identical performance video to mine. She is shown plucking her pubic hairs with tweezers.

It’s like a blow to the head, I can’t believe that I made an identical video to another artist without knowing about it. Maybe we read the same book about the Bakitara, I don’t know, maybe we just think alike. I was quite upset at first, it one thing to interpret someone’s art work and use it in your own work but another thing is to copy that work. I guess I was naive to think that no one had created anything like it but turns out I was a fool. But she is not an internationally known artist, she’s not a big name. I stumbled across her when a friend of mine said she was going to Rollo gallery to see an exhibition by a female performance artist Regina José Galindo. I had never heard of the gallery or the artist so I went on the website to see the exhibitions and saw a past exhibition that celebrated women’s art and Jessica Laguna’s work was presented in the show.

There are some differences between our videos, mine is very stylised in black & white and hints at fluxus and perhaps is more minimal so that what is clearly viewed is the action. It was meant to be minimal in order to focus on the act of plucking the hair rather than any theoretical or political ideal behind it. This artist’s video is shot in colour which means that you can see how brutal it is to pluck pubic hair, you get see her bleeding as the piece progresses, mine, as it’s black & white , dismisses the bleeding completely so the viewer’s experience is not affected by other emotions such as pity. Yes you can sense how painful it is and when I showed my piece in an exhibition at college people winched and had to look away but I think that had they seen the after effects such as the bleeding or scabbing then they would have focused more on that rather than the action taking place. I guess this is another way of referencing the fluxus movement with their happenings…this is my happening, my action.

I do like her work though, I need to look more into her.

 

4 Responses to “Contemporary Art Gallery, Women’s Art Exhibition, London – The Body in Women’s Art Now: Part 1 — Embodied Retorno a al Pubertad (Return to Puberty) by Jessica Lagunas”

  1. white coffee luwak January 10, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    I dugg some of you post as I cerebrated they were extremely helpful handy

  2. tiket murah January 18, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    I like what you guys are up also. Such smart work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my web site :). “He is happiest, be he king or peasant, who finds peace in his home.” by Johann von Goethe.

  3. tiket garuda January 23, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    Utterly indited content material , thanks for selective information .

  4. konsultan ppc March 20, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    I like this web site very much so much fantastic info.

Leave a Reply

